Club AGM

Kirkcaldy Canoe Club held their AGM and presentation of awards on Friday night. This meeting was well attended by club members in Kinghorn community centre. The official business of the AGM was dealt with first including the election of the club committee for 2010.

The presentation of annual awards by the committee was then made. First up was Derek Lula who was awarded Swimmer of the Year for the most memorable swims in Kinghorn Loch last year. This is an award which no-one really wants to win, but there is an esteemed list of names of some of the best paddlers on the trophy from previous years!

Next award was the Most Improved Junior Paddler of the Year. This was awarded to Colin Chapman who the committee felt had made the most significant improvement over the past year. This was clear to see in many of his results at Scottish and National events.

The Most Improved Senior Paddler award was presented to Fay McGlashan who has also made great improvement over the past year paddling regularly at club training sessions in all weathers.

The most coveted trophy, Paddler of the Year, was awarded to Rachel Syme. Rachel has made huge steps forward this past season moving from the Lightning class for U12 to the U14 class in full sized K1 kayaks. As well as being invited to train and compete with the National Development Squad, Rachel has travelled to Nottingham on several occasions for British sprint regattas where she has attained good results. Rachel has also taken part in many Scottish competitions on a variety of water achieving excellent results.

The final award was the David H Chalmers Memorial Trophy. This is a new award to recognise an outstanding performance and is chosen by the committee. This was presented to Neil Chalmers following his first place in division 5 at the Hasler Trophy in September on the River Thames.

The club are nearing the end of their winter training and will be back on the loch on Tuesday and Thursday evenings at 1800 from Tuesday 30thMarch.